Story: Col. Bruce Carr

April 5, 2007 at 9:23 pm 7 comments

Angel’s PlaymateA while ago, I got an email from someone who reads my blog.  He was sharing the story of Col. Bruce Carr, a WWII pilot who flew a P-51 Mustang called Angels Playmate.  It was a good story, and in hopes of sharing and giving proper credit, I did a search.  I found this illustrated story, which is almost word for word what my friend sent me.  You need about 10 minutes to read this, but it is worth the investment.  Sadly, Col. Carr headed for blue skies in April of 1998.  I’m glad we have some of his story to share.

[Thank you Dean]

Entry filed under: aviation, military. Tags: .

Turbine Toucan Update on Relentless

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tim Duncan  |  April 27, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I had the honor of visiting Dr Joe Newsom and watching his son Dr Alex Newsom do a fly over in Colonel Bruce Carrs P51 Mustang in Cheraw, SC Saturday April 25. What a beautiful plane and an unforgetable sound.

    Reply
  • 2. Dave  |  September 1, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    My grandfather was best friends with Bruce. They would talk often with one another about important issues and he would invite my grandfather to visit him wherever he was stationed. My father was also very good friends with him. Just this evening he was telling me about Bruce’s adventures. We have a beautiful illustration of his mustang on our wall that I believe Bruce signed for my family. I’m very glad his experiences are being passed on! He was a wonderful man and truly an Ace Pilot.

    Reply
  • 3. Ray A. Gandy Sr.  |  October 16, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    I was a Jet Engine Mechanic with the 401st TFW. 1958 thru 1961 and had the Honor of Serving with Col. Carr on a few Missions with His 614th TFS, Including “The Berlin Mission” Sept. 1961
    Col. Bruce Carr will always be My Hero, and Spiritual Mentor…A Great Man!!

    Reply
  • 4. patrick  |  October 7, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    I saw Col. Carrs “Angels Playmate” at an airshow in Winston-Salem, NC. i got to meet the man who was flying it and he told me the awesome story of Col. Carr. I was stunned and amazed at how he had adapted to his changing situation and was able to make it back home.

    Reply
  • 5. pegglover25  |  February 22, 2012 at 7:04 am

    I am a cousin of Col. Bruce Carr. I only know that information through my ancestry research. I have a deep love of aviation and am extremely patriotic. Col. Bruce Carr not only gives me and my family a solid foundation to be proud for what he did, his experiences explain why we are the way we are.

    Peg McRoy Glover

    Reply
    • 6. Ary Hobbel  |  August 2, 2012 at 8:55 pm

      Peg,
      During the mid-sixties, Col. Bruce Carr was stationed in The Hague at the office of the Military Assistance Advisory Group. In order to maintain flying status, he was a “guest pilot” at my oprational 314 Squadron of the Royal Netherlands Air Force, then flying the Republic F-84-f.
      As one of the senior operational pilots, it was my honor and delight to have Bruce assigned to be my ‘wing man’ whenever he showed up. Our mission, be that low-flying over Germany, gunnery or just ‘hauling jets all over the sky’ was a wonderful experience without exception. I never had a better wing man, ever!
      At the time, I did not know Bruce’s stellar history and he felt no need to advertise it.
      One time, my ‘real’ wing man and I caught up with Bruce as he flew the venerable C-47 (DC-3 in its civilian livery). We did whatever we could to get him in our gunsight. No matter what we tried, we never even came close and that while he flew an old propeller passenger airplane and we had single-seat jets!
      What wonderful memories of a real aviator and true gentleman. Last time I saw Bruce was in his stateroom on the New Amsterdam for am fond farewell and some adult beverages before he sailed back to the USA for his next assignment.
      Remain proud of this very special relative, Peg!
      Best regards,
      Ary Hobbel
      Ex-R.Ne.A.F. and United Air Lines (ret)

      Reply
  • 7. Robert  |  April 21, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    It is sad that that generation is fading, I feel it would be hard to find like replacements in our present world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Quote

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first." Mark Twain

Quote 2

From Marine Corps Chaplain Father Dennis O'Brien: "It is the soldier, not the poet who has given us freedom of speech. It is the soldier, not the reporter who has given us freedom of the press. It is the soldier, not the campus organizer who has given us the freedom to demonstrate. And it is the soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who gives the protester the right to burn the flag." found on: www.robreider.com

Indianapolis Bloggers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

