Teens and Technology (a followup)

June 10, 2006 at 12:45 pm Leave a comment

Earlier this week I had a post about Teens and Technology.  Over the last two days, we’ve read about the young girl from Michigan who flew to Jordan to meet with a man she met on MySpace. According to the article, the young lady is a good student and has never been a problem.  Now, here’s the question:  Is this a parenting issue?  Many will argue that teens are too connected for there own good.  Others will argue this was a failure on the parents part.  Where do we draw the line?  Did the parent(s) take the time out to speak to this child about safety issues?  Here’s how it works in my house. If it’s in my house, I get to have access to your account.  I get to check it.  And I do.  I’ve had this discussion with both my girls.  Can I control everything – not likely.  But I certainly will control what I have power to control.  I know a lot of kids are up in arms about how much their parents “control” them.  (For those teenagers that might read this – if your parents check on this stuff, it means they love you.  They care. This is how they show it.) If you love them, please check on them.  It’s scary to think about how badly this could have turned out.  Please share your thoughts. And if you have any good links for safety on the internet, feel free to share them.

Entry filed under: Family, News and politics, parenting, technology.

GM defends itself against NYT NSA Cartoon

Leave a Comment Add your own

  • […] Ben has a good post that talks about friendship.  He makes some very good points about mutual investment in the friendship. He also linked to this USA today article, 25% of Americans have no one to confide in.  This article made me stop and think and it makes me go back to this post.  I have to confess, I’m not the tech junkie some others are, but I do find myself at the computer quite a bit.  The article also mentions social networking as a possible remedy.  Are the kids onto something with all the tech stuff they are involved in, or will it hurt their ability to make friendships in the future?  (note: a related post).  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Quote

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first." Mark Twain

Quote 2

From Marine Corps Chaplain Father Dennis O'Brien: "It is the soldier, not the poet who has given us freedom of speech. It is the soldier, not the reporter who has given us freedom of the press. It is the soldier, not the campus organizer who has given us the freedom to demonstrate. And it is the soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who gives the protester the right to burn the flag." found on: www.robreider.com

Indianapolis Bloggers


