Friday night at the … “answer that!” …movies.

July 8, 2006 at 9:20 am Leave a comment

It started like any other night, but it was far from normal.  The intent, when I walked through the door last night, was just to chill out on a Friday evening and watch a movie. I should have got a clue early on that it wouldn’t work out that way, but I was persistent and kept trying.  I walked in the door at 5:30 (it’s nice getting home earlier now with the new job).  My wife and I chatted about the events of the day for a bit, when the phone rang. It was one of my wife’s friends. That call didn’t last long, but it was the beginning of a night from a sit-com. 

So we sat down to watch our movie.  About five minutes into the movie, Deb’s cell phone rang.  It was another friend just checking in.  That call was interrupted by the house phone ringing.  Deb hung up her cell phone, took that call, spoke for a few minutes, hung up and turned the movie back on.  Twenty minutes later – phone again, this time telemarketer.  That one ended with “please remove me from your calling list.”  Deb and I share a look, and restart the movie.

One dog is staring at me.  It’s the look.  The “I gotta use it” look.  The smaller dog is whining. He’s seen a rabbit in the yard and wants to give chase.  We try to ignore them. It doesn’t work.  They are persistent too!  Pause.  Let dogs out. Wait.  Sit down. Share a look with Deb.

We turn the movie back on, catch a few more minutes, and now the door bell rings!  Carpet cleaning sales person.  She’s rude too.  Of course, at this point I’m not happy about the interruption, and the dogs barking during the whole 3 to 4 minutes at the door isn’t helping me calm down either.  I close the door, sit down in a huff, take a deep breath, and restart the movie.  I told you I was persistent!

The phone is ringing – AGAIN!  We didn’t take the this one. We didn’t even bother getting up for that one.  Go movie go!  Fifteen minutes later, my cell phone.  I had to take that call, it was important.  A good friend in the hospital gets to go home today, and I’m the back up ride. Cool! I can handle that.

So here we are, three hours after the movie started, and it is time to go pick up my daughter from work.  Is the movie done yet?  Are you kidding!?  Earlier that night, the family lobbied for the late showing of Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest.  I agreed.  I’ve been looking forward to this movie. So we all get in the car, pick up the working daughter, and head over to the movie.  Once seated, we all TURN OFF our cell phones, and enjoy the movie…without interruption this time.

Maybe I’ll watch the end of other movie tonight.  Maybe I’ll just start it over.

Entry filed under: fun stuff, rants.

More pictures for TOR/Dayton Air show Beck’s plane in the movie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Quote

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first." Mark Twain

Quote 2

From Marine Corps Chaplain Father Dennis O'Brien: "It is the soldier, not the poet who has given us freedom of speech. It is the soldier, not the reporter who has given us freedom of the press. It is the soldier, not the campus organizer who has given us the freedom to demonstrate. And it is the soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who gives the protester the right to burn the flag." found on: www.robreider.com

Indianapolis Bloggers


