Right or wrong?

January 3, 2007 at 11:32 pm 3 comments

19 year old has issues at a DWI checkpoint in Missouri.  Read the linked article below and let me know if you thing it is right or wrong? 

Missouri: Police Roadblock Harassment Caught on Tape.  Found via this article.

Entry filed under: News and politics.

Does the name of the company make a difference? Merlin’s Magic is flying again

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Richard Querin  |  January 4, 2007 at 7:13 am

    I’ve been stopped at several drunk driving checkpoints (two just this past winter season) and every time I remember the first (and usually only) question being: “Had anything to drink tonight sir?”. I don’t remember them ever asking where I was going. Canadian officers might be different than US ones though.

    That being said, I don’t think I would hesitate in telling them just out of courtesy and to be social. Sure I realize it’s none of their business, but I also realize they are people like you and I and treat them as such. If someone walked up to me in the mall and said “How you doin’?” I wouldn’t say, “None of your business.”.

    HIs reaction to the officer’s initial question was technically ok, but chippy and antisocial. The officer’s whole reaction to it was chippy as well. Not a good combination.

    Reply
  • 2. Mike Souders  |  January 4, 2007 at 10:47 am

    I’m probably over analyzing the whole thing, but I can’t help but think he went there with the intent to find fault, and thus the chippy and antisocial answers to the questions. For the “experiment” (if that is what it was) to be successful, maybe he should have tried another checkpoint and been friendlier, no?

    Anyway, not worth spending too much time on. Thanks for the comment, I appreciate the response.

    Reply
  • 3. Arthur  |  January 5, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Yeah, you’re right, not worth spending too much time on. I agree that he seemed to be looking for trouble. Reminds me of smart *ss high school kids. However, it’s frustrating to see how the cops handled the situation. Again, like you said, this is no Rodney King.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Quote

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first." Mark Twain

Quote 2

From Marine Corps Chaplain Father Dennis O'Brien: "It is the soldier, not the poet who has given us freedom of speech. It is the soldier, not the reporter who has given us freedom of the press. It is the soldier, not the campus organizer who has given us the freedom to demonstrate. And it is the soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who gives the protester the right to burn the flag." found on: www.robreider.com

Indianapolis Bloggers


