What is the Role of a University?

November 29, 2006 at 9:59 am Leave a comment

Robert Scoble asks the question: 

Is it to teach commercial skills (like how to run Adobe InDesign) or is it to push people to explore their fields and themselves?

I’m one of those rare(?) people who got his education later.  I’ve been working in technology for about ten years now.  I only got my degree two years ago.  Most of my classes went over skills I had already learned.  The classes that taught me the most were the ones that taught some theory, some thinking – or challenged me to think in ways I hadn’t thought before. 

Did anyone see the movie “Accepted”?  I really liked the movie for the message it delivered.  Yes, it was comedy.  But the message – isn’t that what Robert is asking?  Don’t we need the skills to THINK through the problem?  Robert said we can learn how to use a product or software with a book.  Will the technolgies we teach in schools today be relevant in a decade at the speed things are changing?  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Education.

What message is this sending? Chris Perillo – Online Video war

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Quote

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first." Mark Twain

Quote 2

From Marine Corps Chaplain Father Dennis O'Brien: "It is the soldier, not the poet who has given us freedom of speech. It is the soldier, not the reporter who has given us freedom of the press. It is the soldier, not the campus organizer who has given us the freedom to demonstrate. And it is the soldier who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag, who gives the protester the right to burn the flag." found on: www.robreider.com

Indianapolis Bloggers